Meet the Clerk

The Clerk of the Circuit Court, established by the Florida Constitution of 1838, is the local constitutional officer who serves as the Public Trustee for the county. In addition to serving as Clerk to the Courts, your Clerk provides a county-level system of checks and balances through service as the County Comptroller, Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners, guardian of Public and Official Records, Clerk to the Value Adjustment Board, and Internal Auditor of county funds.

As a public trustee, my office mission is to serve you with integrity, professionalism, courtesy, and respect. Please use our online services or call, email or visit one of my offices if we can be of further service to you.

The Honorable Carolyn (Barton) Timmann was first sworn into Office on January 8, 2013, as the Martin County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller. She is currently serving her third term in office and is the sixth Clerk to serve since Martin County was formed in 1925.


Carolyn started her career in the state court system working for a 19th Judicial Circuit Judge and as the Martin County Law Librarian. She then worked in a local law firm before serving as the legislative assistant to Representative Tom Warner in the Florida House of Representatives, based in Stuart. Following that role, Carolyn and her family moved to Tallahassee where she worked in the Attorney General's Office as Special Assistant to Florida's first two Solicitor Generals.

In 2006, Carolyn transferred to the Office of the Governor as Executive Deputy Chief of Staff, overseeing military and veterans' affairs, gubernatorial councils and commissions, and statewide consumer and technology projects. In January 2011, she was appointed as the Director of Open Government for the Executive Office of the Governor to manage public records and projects to provide statewide electronic information. She resigned from that role in 2012 to return home to Martin County and seek the Office of Clerk and Comptroller.


Clerk Timmann attended the University of Georgia, Indian River State College, and The Florida State University, earning B.A. and A.A. degrees, as well as Certificates in Public Administration and Records Management.

Personal Commitment

Clerk Timmann is the proud mother of two adult children who were born in Stuart (with late husband, Robert Timmann, a long-time law enforcement officer and instructor). Her daughter, Shannon Timmann, is a member of the Florida Bar and the District of Columbia Bar currently practicing in Alexandria, Virginia; her son, Morgan Timmann, is a university student majoring in Economics and Business Administration.

She serves locally as a member of the Salvation Army's Women's Auxiliary, LEADERship Martin County Alumni Assoc., on the Board of Directors for Helping People Succeed as an Honorary Member, The Federalist Society, Elliott Museum, Stuart Heritage Society, Florida Oceanographic Society, and the Halpatiokee Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR). She also assists other local and statewide organizations.

Professional Commitment

Clerk Timmann completed the 240-hour professional development certification program for Court Clerks, which was developed by the Florida Supreme Court in conjunction with the Florida Court Clerks and Comptrollers (FCCC). She serves as Legislative Chair, and a member of the Budget Committee for the Court Clerks Operations Corporation, and serves on the Board of Directors as Past President of the Florida Court Clerks and Comptrollers

Other Professional Memberships:

  • Member, Government Finance Officer’s Association (GFOA)
  • Member, Florida Government Finance Officer's Association (FGFOA)
  • Member, Property Records Industry Association (PRIA)
  • Member, National Genealogical Society (NGS)
  • Associate Member, Martin County Bar Association.

Honors & Awards as Clerk & Comptroller

  • Represent the statewide Clerks of Court as a member of the Criminal and Juvenile Justice Information Systems Council, appointed in 2014; served as Chair, 2017 to 2022
  • Best Places to Work Award, Career Source Florida, 2016
  • "Clerk of the Year" for the Florida Court Clerks and Comptrollers, 2016/2017
  • Partnership Award from Florida Rural Legal Services and the Martin County Bar Association for "Partnership and Dedication to Ensuring Equal Access to the Courts and all Persons Regardless of Socioeconomic Status," October 2016 
  • Appointed to the Florida Constitution Revision Commission by Senate President Joe Negron, 2017 - 2018 
  • Pro Bono Publico "For the Public Good" Award Partnership Award from Florida Rural Legal Services and the Martin County Bar Association for "Her Outstanding Partnership with Florida Rural Legal Services, The Martin County Bar Association Judicial Circuit Pro Bono Committee and Her Ongoing Commitment to Providing Equal Access to the Courts For All Persons," 11 May 2018 
  • Champion Award, Florida Assoc. of Property Appraisers, "In Recognition of Her Efforts as a Constitutional Revision Commission Member to Protect the Constitutional Independence and Authority of All Constitutional Officers in This Great State of Florida," 2018 
  • President's Award, Florida Tax Collector's Association, 2018 
  • Outstanding Service Award, Florida Association of Court Clerks and Comptrollers, 2018 
  • President's Award, Florida Sheriff's Association, 2018 
  • Honorary Sheriff's designation by the Florida Sheriff's Association, 2019 
  • Florida Bar President's Appointee to the Bar's Special Committee on Criminal Justice, 2019 
  • Special Deputy Sheriff appointment, St. Lucie County Sheriff's Office, 2019; 2021 
  • Pro Bono Publico Award from 19th Judicial Circuit Bench Bar Committee, Florida Rural Legal Services and the Martin County Bar Association, November 2019 
  • Florida Court Clerks and Comptrollers President's Strategic Partnership Award, June 2020 
  • Florida Court Clerks and Comptrollers President's Leading the Drive for Excellence Award, June 2021 
  • Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers President's Award for Legislative Collaboration, June 2022 
  • President, Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers Association, 2022-2023